Articles: Denzel Washington - Biopeek




All Rights Reserved

Date of Birth: December 28, 1954

Place of Birth: Mt. Vernon, N.Y., USA

Sign: Capricorn

Education: Fordham University

Family: Father: Denzel Washington, Sr. (preacher) -- Mother: Lennis Washington (beautician) -- Wife: Paulette Pearson -- Kids: John David, Katia, Malcolm and Olivia (twins)

Fan Mail:
C/O International Creative Management
8942 Wilshire Blvd.
Beverly Hills, CA 90211


  Washington possesses a sincere love of God, family and work, as evidenced by a solid family life that belies the Hollywood sterotype, and a still-growing body of work that would have already worn the tread off most professionals in any field.
  The second of three children, Washington began working after school at the age of eleven in various barber and beauty shops. At fourteen his parents separated (and finally divorced) and Denzel and his older sister were sent to boarding school. After high school, Washington attended New York's Fordham University, where he studied journalism. While at Fordham, he also won several roles in drama department student productions. After completing his B.A. in 1977 he won a scholorship to San Francisco's American Conservatory Theater, where he continued to study his newfound passion for acting. But his studies at ACT lasted only a year. Washington left the Conservatory early to attempt a professional career; a courageous step towards stardom.

Filmography Highlights :#

*Wilma (1977) (TV)

*Flesh & Blood (1979) (TV)

*Carbon Copy (feature-film debut )  (1981)

*St. Elsewhere (1982) (TV)

*Soldier's Story, A (1984)

*License to Kill (1984) (TV)

*George McKenna Story, The (1986)  (TV)

*Power (1986)

*Cry Freedom (1987)

*Mighty Quinn, The (1989)

*Glory (Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor) (1989)

*For Queen and Country (1989)

*Heart Condition (1990)

*Mo' Better Blues (1990)

*Mississippi Masala (1991)

*Ricochet (1991)

*Malcolm X (Oscar-nomination) (1992)

*Philadelphia (1993)

*Much Ado About Nothing (1993)

*Pelican Brief, The (1993)

*Century of Cinema, A (1994)

*Devil in a Blue Dress (1995)

*Crimson Tide (1995)

*Virtuosity (1995)

*Courage Under Fire (1996)

*Preacher's Wife, The (1996)

*Fallen (1998)

*He Got Game (1998)

*Siege, The (1998)

*The Hurricane (1999)

*Bone Collector, The (1999)


*Finding Fish (1999)

Go To Photos >>


Videos and DVDs
All Products

Search by Keywords