Articles: 86th Academy Award Winners




All Rights Reserved

(Winners are highlighted.)

Oscar Winners for 2014:

Best Picture
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
12 Years a Slave
Dallas Buyers Club
The Wolf of Wall Street

Actor in a Leading Role
Christian Bale, American Hustle
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

Actress in a Leading Role
Amy Adams, American Hustle
Judi Dench, Philomena
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Meryl Streep, August: Osage County
Sandra Bullock, Gravity

Actor in a Supporting Role
Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

Actress in a Supporting Role
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
June Squibb, Nebraska
Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave

Animated Feature Film
The Croods
The Wind Rises
Despicable Me 2
Ernest & Celestine

The Grandmaster, Philippe Le Sourd
Gravity, Emmanuel Lubezki
Inside Llewyn Davis, Bruno Delbonnel
Nebraska, Phedon Papamichael
Prisoners, Roger A. Deakins

Costume Design
American Hustle, Michael Wilkinson
The Grandmaster, William Chang Suk Ping
The Great Gatsby, Catherine Martin
The Invisible Woman, Michael O'Connor
12 Years a Slave, Patricia Norris

American Hustle, David O. Russell
Gravity, Alfonso Cuaron
Nebraska, Alexander Payne
12 Years a Slave, Steve McQueen
The Wolf of Wall Street, Martin Scorsese

Documentary - Feature
The Act of Killing
Cutie and the Boxer
Dirty Wars
The Square
20 Feet from Stardom

Documentary - Short Subject
CaveDigger, Jeffrey Karoff
Facing Fear, Jason Cohen
Karama Has No Walls, Sara Ishaq
The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life, Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed
Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall, Edgar Barens

Film Editing
American Hustle, Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten
Captain Phillips, Christopher Rouse
Dallas Buyers Club, John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa
Gravity, Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger
12 Years a Slave, Joe Walker

Foreign Language Film
The Broken Circle Breakdown, Belgium
The Great Beauty, Italy
The Hunt, Denmark
The Missing Picture, Cambodia
Omar, Palestine

Makeup and Hairstyling
Dallas Buyers Club, Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa, Stephen Prouty
The Lone Ranger, Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Music - Original Score
The Book Thief: John Williams
Gravity: Steven Price
Her: Will Butler, Owen Pallett
Philomena: Alexandre Desplat
Saving Mr. Banks: Thomas Newman

Music - Original Song
"Alone Yet Not Alone" from Alone Yet Not Alone
"Happy" from Despicable Me 2
"Let It Go" from Frozen
"The Moon Song" from Her
"Ordinary Love" from Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

Production Design
American Hustle
The Great Gatsby
12 Years a Slave

Screenplay- Best Adapted
Before Midnight
Captain Phillips
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street

Screenplay - Best Original
American Hustle
Blue Jasmine
Dallas Buyers Club

Short Film - Animated

Get a Horse!
Mr. Hublot
Room on the Broom

Short Film - Live Action
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me)
Avanta Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)
Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)
The Voorman Problem

Sound Editing
All Is Lost
Captain Phillips
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Lone Survivor

Sound Mixing
Captain Phillips
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Inside Llewyn Davis
Lone Survivor

Visual Effects
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Iron Man 3
The Lone Ranger
Star Trek Into Darkness

Honorary Award

Piero Tosi
For his phenomenal achievements in costume designing for last 75 years. (Oscar statuette)

Steve Martin
For his excellence achievement as a Stand-Up comedian, Musician and Producer. (Oscar statuette)

Angela Lansbury
For her extravagant achievements in cinematic industry of her career of 75 years. (Oscar statuette)

Medal of Commendation

Charles 'Tad' Marburg

Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award

Angelina Jolie

Academy Award of Merit
To all those who built and operated film laboratories, for over a century of service to the motion picture industry.

Scientific and Engineering Award

Eric Veach
For his foundational research on efficient Monte Carlo path tracing for image synthesis.

Ofer Alon
For the design and implementation of the ZBrush software tool for multi-resolution sculpting of digital models.

Andre Gauthier, Benoit Sevigny, Yves Boudreault, Robert Lanciault
For the design and implementation of the FiLMBOX software application.

Emmanuel Prévinaire, Jan Sperling, Etienne Brandt, Tony Postiau
For their development of the Flying-Cam SARAH 3.0 system.

Technical Achievement Award

Olivier Maury, Ian Sachs, Dan Piponi
For the creation of the ILM Plume system that simulates and renders fire, smoke and explosions for motion picture visual effects.

Ronald D. Henderson
For the development of the FLUX gas simulation system.

Martin Hill, Jon Allitt, Nick McKenzie
For the creation of the spherical harmonics-based efficient lighting system at Weta Digital.

Florian Kainz, Jeffery Yost, Phillip Hubbard, Jim Hourihan
For the architecture and development of the Zeno application framework.

Peter Huang, Chris Perry, Hans Rijpkema, Joe Mancewicz
To Peter Huang and Chris Perry for their architectural contributions to, and to Hans Rijpkema and Joe Mancewicz for the core engineering of, the Voodoo application framework.

Peter Hillman
For the long-term development and continued advancement of innovative, robust and complete toolsets for deep compositing.

Tom Lokovic, Eric Veach
For their influential research and publication of the fundamental concepts of deep shadowing technology.

Gifford Hooper, Philip George
For the continuing development of the Helicam miniature helicopter camera system.

John Frazier, Chuck Gaspar, Clay Pinney
For the design and development of the Pneumatic Car Flipper.

Joshua Pines, David Reisner, Lou Levinson, Curtis Clark, David Register
For the development of the American Society of Cinematographers Color Decision List technology.

Jeremy Selan
For the development of the OpenColorIO color management framework.

Andrew Camenisch, Dave Cardwell, Tibor Madjar, Csaba Kohegyi, Imre Major
To Andrew Camenisch, David Cardwell and Tibor Madjar for the concept and design, and to Csaba Kohegyi and Imre Major for the implementation of the Mudbox software.

Matt Pharr, Greg Humphreys, Pat Hanrahan
For their formalization and reference implementation of the concepts behind physically based rendering, as shared in their book Physically Based Rendering.

Colin Doncaster, Johannes Saam, Areito Echevarria, Janne Kontkanen, Chris Cooper
For the development, prototyping and promotion of technologies and workflows for deep compositing.

Gordon E. Sawyer Award

Peter Anderson (visual effects supervisor)


Videos and DVDs
All Products

Search by Keywords